People_

Appointments

The American Institute of Nutrition has announced election of Doris Howes Calloway, provost of the University of California-Berkeley, as president-elect, to assume the presidency in April 1982. ... AIN also has named five new Fellows, a designation reserved for members at least 65 years old who have had a distinguished career in nutrition. The five new Fellows are Drs. George K. Davis, Paul B. Pearson, Frederick J. Stare, E.L. Robert Stokstad and Harry W. Vars. ... Emery Industries Inc. has named Richard Dabeck as product group manager for its Fatty and Dibasic Acids Group, responsible for coconut-derived fatty acids, methyl esters and ozone oxidation acids. . . . Also at Emery, Harold S. Hayward, Jr., has been named a technical sales representative for the Fatty and Dibasic Acids Group. ... Industrial Filter & Pump Mfg. Co. has named two new national sales managers with Edward H. King directing equipment sales and Charles J. Notovotny directing systems sales. ... Phillip J. Reilly is new sales manager of surfactants and emulsifiers for Capital City Products Co., a division of Stokely-Van Camp Inc.... Durkee Foods Division/SCM Corp. has named Jay A. Merz as division process engineer and George Cheselka has been named product manager-cosmetic, pharmaceutical and allied industries for the Durkee Division/SCM.... Richard E. Rayford is now process development manager for environmental control at Foster Wheeler Energy Corporation's process design and development department.... Warren Fuchs is manager of synfuels in the commercial developdepartment of Heyward-Robinson.... Audrey ment Lychak is sales and marketing manager for Firmenich of Canada Ltd,'s flavor division. Joseph L. Keeler has been named director of market development for the National Renderers Association.

Deaths

Fred T. Taylor

AOCS has been informed of the Jan. 10, 1981, death of Fred T. Taylor, plant manager in the refinery division of Monarch Fine Foods Co. Ltd. in Rexdale, Ontario, Canada. Mr. Taylor initially joined AOCS in 1958 when he was with Canada Packers.

Joseph G. Piotrowski

AOCS has been informed of the March 1, 1981, death of Joseph G. Piotrowski who had joined the society as an active junior (student) member during 1980. He was a graduate student at Rutgers University.

William Colburn

William Colburn, president of Colburn Laboratories in Chicago, died Feb. 1, 1981. He had been a member of the AOCS since 1949.

Dr. Colburn received his bachelor's degree from the University of Chicago in 1935 and his doctorate there in 1938.

Bennett cited

Glenn A. Bennett, research chemist at the USDA's Northern Regional Research Center, Peoria, IL, has received the Federal Employee of the Year Award for 1981 from the Peoria Federal Executive Association. Bennett, who is a member of AOCS, is involved in research concerning fermentation products, created by fungi growing on food and feed, which are potentially hazardous to man and animals. He was cited for high-level research performance and for his involvement in, and concern for, community needs.

Correction

The March JAOCS published an incorrect name for the director of the Instituto Superior Agropecuario Autonomo del Estado de Guerrero. The director's name is Ing. L.S. Covarubias. N.M.S. Banafunzi, whose name was inadvertently listed, was the institute staff person primarily responsible for coordinating the institute's activities in support of the World Conference on Soya Processing and Utilization. \Box

International

DGF to meet September 14-17

The Deutschen Gesselschaft fur Fettwissenschaft will hold its annual fall meeting from Sept. 14-17, 1981, at Albert Ludwig University in Freiburg.

Topics will include traditional ones of analytical methodology, processing equipment and technology, soaps and detergents, animal feeds, protein as human food, as well as a session on ecology and health safety in the work environment.

Details on the program and registration information is available from the DGF-Deschafsstelle, Soesterstrasses 13, 4400-Munster, West Germany. Concurrent sessions will be held during most of the meeting, with plenary sessions scheduled Monday afternoon, Sept. 14, and Tuesday morning, Sept. 15. Presentation of the Normann Medal and H.P. Kaufmann prize will be Tuesday.

Irish firms restructured

The Irish Oil and Cake Mills Ltd. group has been restructured into a holding company, with the manufacturing business transferred to a subsidiary to be known as Irish Oil and Cake Mills (Manufacturing) Ltd.